Home > Uncategorized > Closed Mouths Don’t Get Fed

Closed Mouths Don’t Get Fed

I know how the saying go. I’m very well familiar with it…..I know it so well because I’m usually somewhere with a closed mouth. I’ve always been the type to not want to ask anyone for anything. I would rather go without. So majority of the time I’m the one with a closed mouth.

See my uncle, family friend, or whatever he is was just promoted to this higher position within the federal gov’t. Now I’ve known for him to be employed within the federal gov’t and somebody was telling me a bigwig. But I didn’t know whether the bigwig part was true or not. Years ago he had gave me his card and I emailed him. He then told me to call him and I dropped the ball because I never did. I just kept my mouth closed.

Fast forward to the present time. I’m still going through the motions of looking for another job. Well my mom had me ask my friend if she know my uncle because his promotion is within her speciality. I’m kinda blowing my momma off like no she don’t know him. Anywho I ended up asking my friend anyway and comes to find out my friend had just started corresponding with my uncle and they were scheduled for a meeting soon. So once my friend told me this I gave her all the in’s about my uncle like make sure you tell him you’ve been to his hometown and you know yadda, yadda, yadda. My friend knows how to milk things so I provided with every possible way to milk it. Hell, beforehand I also told her to plug me.

I know y’all probably like it’s your uncle why can’t you plug yourself. Well, y’all know the history of my grandfather being a rolling stone. Well, it was never confirmed whether this man was actually my uncle or not. And we don’t have any kind of relationship for real. So it’s one of those awkward situations. The last year we’ve been in each other’s presence because him and my mom were in the same high school graduating class and they were planning their reunion. He ain’t say nothing to me career related and I ain’t say nothing to him…. I just kept my mouth closed.

Well my friend called me last night to tell me about the meeting with my uncle. She goes on to say girl he going places and I’m trying to go with him. She was pretty much on the phone going on and on about he know all the right people. And it wouldn’t be nothing but a word from him that could possible put me on. I felt like my friend in so many words was saying quit being silly and use him to your advantage. She definitely was plugging me though. He pretty much learned all of my career goals from my friend. She told him my interests and everything. She also went on to say I’m definitely gonna keep in contact with him and I’mma throw your name out there in our emails as well. As you can see, she has no problem with the closed mouth syndrome.

I know when it boils down to it a lot of things are depending on who you know and all that other stuff….So now I’m over here like okay maybe it’s time for me to open my mouth. So I don’t know how I’m gonna do it but at least I’m gonna try. If nothing happens then so be it. At least I tried to to get fed……Right?????

So just wish me luck on opening my mouth. And I’ll make sure to keep you informed on how everythingworks out. 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. L.P.
    July 30, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Go for it 80’s! I am doing the same thing right now… Applying for jobs back home etc… And you know it’s difficult to do it sight unseen, so I’m making my network work extra hard for me. I’ve gotten a lot of positive feedback and I hope something materializes soon.

    Ask him! Who knows you might be working at the white house before you know it. 🙂

  2. August 2, 2010 at 12:07 am

    Work all avenues open to 80’s! People are put in your life to help you get a leg up. It’s up tp us on whether or not we will take the opportunity. One day YOU will be able to help someone else get ahead! Get in touch with your Uncle. You have NOTHING to lose!

  3. V Renee
    August 3, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Two things. 1) The only thing they can say is No. I feel this way about most things….the most they can tell me is no 🙂

    2) Ummm LP, you’re trying to leave the states??? Say it aint so!! NOOOOOOOOOOOOO *wall slide*

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

