Home > Uncategorized > First time for everything…….

First time for everything…….

Yesterday I got the bright idea to go see Avatar. I had recently seen someone’s fb status a few days ago about just now seeing it and it reminded me that I still haven’t seen it. So I was at work and somehow I thought about it. So I looked into it. In my city, they were still showing it but just not in 3 D. So I debated going to that show. Then I expanded my search and in a nearby city they were still showing it in 3d. And me being Ms. Picky, I wanted to see it in 3D.

I reached out to my friend who lives in that city to make weekend plans so we could possibly go see the movie. She agreed so I happened to look into prebuying the tickets. I couldn’t buy the tickets for the upcoming weekend. I realized they were probably gonna stop showing it after Thursday considering it’s a new 3d movie that’s coming out. So it was either now or never.  I still don’t trust 3D on tv after that Michael Jackson tribute which DIDN’T WORK.

So I emailed my friend again like I’m coming to your city tonight. At first she agreed to go to the movies with me. Which was fine.  But considering it was a long movie and it was starting pretty late I didn’t want to impose on her evening. So I told her we could just do dinner and then I would go to the movies by myself. She finally backed out of the movies because of how long it was and plus she’s already seen it.

But I did it. I went to the movies by myself. At first I was a little hesitant. I didn’t know whether to wait until the lights were dim it started before I went and grabbed a seat or what. Eventually I was just like it’s whatever and headed on in to grab a seat during their commercials since I was pretty early. I didn’t know whether to expect a lot of people or few people. But there was only one other lady in there. So I cracked a joke and said I guess it’s just me and you. LOL Eventually other people started making their way in. Including a younger girl to sit with that woman. So I think I was the only one in there by myself. But suprisingly, it didn’t phase me.

I actually enjoyed my outings yesterday. So I have decided that I’m going to do that more often. On Tuesday evenings I’m going to start treating myself to a dinner and a movie. Next Tuesday, I plan on hitting Fridays and I’ll be going to see Our Family Wedding. I’m excited already.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. L.P.
    March 24, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    Yay ma’am!! Welcome to the club! I am a go-to-the-movie-by-yourself kind of girl! With one of my ex, we would actually go to the movie theater together and chose to see different films and then reconvene at the end of the movies!

    It truly is an exciting thing to do… Very liberating! Glad you enjoyed yourself!

  2. ms80sbaby
    March 24, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    To be honest it was very liberating and not as bad as I thought it was going to be… I don’t even know why I thought it was going to be so bad though….. But I really did enjoy and I’m happy to know that I can say that I have done something that not too many people have done. Went to the movies by themselves!!!! 😉

  3. V Renee
    March 24, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    Yyyaaaayyyyy 80s!!! I’m proud of you!

    I love love love spending time with me. I’m more of a loner than I appear to be. So I gets in these streets on the solo all the time!

    How did you like the movie?? I still haven’t seen it too long and I already know ill fall asleep .

  4. ms80sbaby
    March 24, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    I actually enjoyed it… I was amazed by the graphics, animation, and what not… But the movie itself was good…. And I already knew how long it was going to be so I went prepared.. I smuggled in my OWN snacks…. LOL I can’t really say that I got bored because there wasn’t a slow part… I just kept watching the clock to see how long I’ve watched and how much I had left…. And plus I kept entertaining myself by taking the 3D glasses off and on to see the difference…..LOL

    • March 25, 2010 at 7:24 am

      I feel you on smuggling in your own snacks.. that stuff in the theatre is seriously expensive!

  5. March 25, 2010 at 7:23 am

    I loved going to the movies by myself because I never had to consider if another person wanted to see the movie…. you know the whole hemming and hawwing nonsense. Plus, all of my girlfriends (that would actually go) had kids, so it’d be an issue with babysitting and whatnots.

    The best time to go to the movies is during the week, IMHO.. you don’t have to worry about the crowd or anything!

    Good job, 80s!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

