Home > Uncategorized > First time for everything!!!!!

First time for everything!!!!!

Ever since I can remember the tradition has always been to meet over my granny’s after church. The family goes to two different churches but after church that’s where we always go. We pass the paper around. Everybody fight over who looking at the sales ads first. Some people were trying to beat everybody else to the the coupons.

That was our ritual. To always go over there. There was always someone there. The only time the door is locked is at night. During the day it was all day access. My great grandmother was always there sitting in her chair. Even when my great grandma would do her rehabilitation stints in the nursing home Aunt Hattie was there. So there was always someone there and we just always walked right on in.

However, yesterday after church I pulled up to the house and my grandmother hadn’t made it home yet. So I just sat in the car.  I didn’t know what to do. I didn’t know if the door was going to be unlocked like usual or what. I literally didn’t know what to do. So I just sat there and waited til my grandma pulled up.  This was the first time in my 27 years that I have not had instant access to that house. Needless to say, it was different and its something that I’m probably gonna have to get used to.

To be honest, I’m still actually holding up quite well. I went to the cemetary to take a look at things. And I knew that her and Aunt H plots were close but I didn’t realize that they were right next to each other. That actually comforted me too. Knowing they were together again. So I smiled about that.

It’s almost been 2 weeks since she has passed and people are still bringing food over and stopping by to check on the family. Surprisingly, we’re getting a lot of compliments on the funeral. So many people has stated that it was a very elegant affair. Even though I didn’t know funerals could be elegant. To that I say that my great granny set the tone because she was up there laying like the queen she was. The females in the family coordinated and we either had on a powder blue scarf or a flower to match my great granny in her powder blue.

I’m also happy that my grandma has already started living. She gave up her life to take care of mother. And now it’s time for her to start living again. She has a two week trip planned to Georgia to visit relatives in a few weeks. Me and my sis keep teasing her saying we don’t think she’s gonna last that long away from the family. Last night she finally whispered to me just be on standby. I just laughed and told her I would come pick her up once she got ready to go. She has surprised me so because she has been incredibly strong throughout this whole ordeal. She’s just moving into her role as the new matriarch of the family.

This post has kind of been all over the place…. But I’m just gonna sum it up w/ I LOVE MY FAMILY. They are AWESOME.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Sunny
    March 16, 2010 at 9:09 am

    “The females in the family coordinated and we either had on a powder blue scarf or a flower to match my great granny in her powder blue.”

    I think that is what made the funeral so special (re: elegant. Sometimes I think people just don’t know what to say so it comes out weird/wrong).

    I have a great family, also, and that is such a blessing. I have a lot of friends/family around me that cannot share that sentiment, so it always reminds me to be thankful. I’m happy to hear (read) that you are on the up and up.

  2. ms80sbaby
    March 16, 2010 at 10:07 am

    @Sunny….Great families are truly a blessing…I don’t know what I would do without mine….This guy at the funeral had some really nice words for my family and it touched me…. He was just released from prison a few years ago and he was always hanging around. But during the funeral he mentioned that we were a true family and people need to take notes. He had also mentioned that we knew his struggles and he was always around us because we accepted him knowing his struggles and he was appreciative of the love that we shown him….That made me really proud to be a part of my family.

    But yeah I’m on the up and up… I gotta be….It just wouldn’t be right if I was sad about it…… She lived a wonderful long life. And her funeral just goes to show the type of person she was. She left a legacy and now it’s time for us to live up to her standards.

  3. Sunny
    March 16, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Awww, that was so sweet. That really says, people are watching even when you don’t think they are.

    You aer right about that… when it’s their time, you have to be happy for them, so their spirit can float in peace.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

