Home > Uncategorized > They That Wait

They That Wait

I went to church on Sunday and the choir sung Fred Hammond’s song titled They That Wait. This song actually brought me to tears because I felt like I could relate to the lyrics with my current situation. At the time I didn’t know who sung it, but I found out after googling some lyrics. Needless to say, I went and bought that cd ASAP and have been loving it ever since.

The lyrics include:

They that wait on the Lord
Shall renew their strength
They shall mount up on wings just like an eagle and soar
They shall run and not be weary
They shall walk and never faint
They that wait on the Lord
And I say wait on the Lord

Verse

Hold on a little while longer
Here’s what you got to do
Trust and believe my friend
He’ll work it out for you
One thing you must remember
My God is able and He cares for you
He cares for you

Wait on the Lord and He will come through
Wait on the Lord He will answer you
Wait on the Lord and He won’t be long
Wait on the Lord He’s going to work for…
(start at top)

They that wait upon the Lord
Shall renew strength
They shall mount up on wings like eagles and soar
I’m so glad
I’ve learned how to wait
In the midst of my waiting
I will bless His name.

Hold on a little while longer
hold on, hold on
Hold on a little while longer
hold on, hold on
Hold on a little while longer
hold on, hold on
Hold on a little while longer
hold on, hold on

Don’t give up
Don’t give up
Don’t give up
Wait on Him,Wait on Him

Wait on Him repeated

So yes this has been my theme song and it’s helping me get through. Me and my sister were playing around and I said I was gonna play it for my great grandma when I got home. Especially the part that says hold on a little while longer…… LOL To be honest, we can still only laugh about it because the situation is still yet to be determined but I know that God is going to work it out.  Even if my vacay has to be cut short I’m thankful that I’ll have the means to take care of it.

I feel a whole lot better after talking to my grandma. I called her last night to check on her and ask about my great grandma. I’m glad that I was able to catch her when nobody else was there because she was able to talk freely. You know sometimes family have the tendency to be messy too! But she told me that she wanted us to go on. She also mentioned that if something happens while we’re away then she’s going to try and wait for us. She said if it’s up to her we know she would wait. But she also mentioned but you know how my ignorant brother is. Who has already put it out there that if something were to happen he’s not waiting for us. She also reminded me that God is in control. I just felt comforted after getting off the phone with her. She also said that my great grandma is pretty much in the same condition. Her vitals are still steady. However, it has been over a week since she’s had any food. But she did say that she seemed more peaceful now. I’m happy about that. She said it doesn’t seem as if she’s suffering as she was before.

I also talked to my mom and she was just saying that once I make it home tonight I should get my closure. I had to remind my mom that I’ve been getting closure everytime I’m home. I’m like every time I walk out that door I have to wonder whether that’s the last time I’m going to see her alive or not. And I also had to tell my momma that I can sit there with her for a while but eventually I have to get up out the room because I’m not trying to be traumatized. I’m sorry but I do NOT want to be there when she takes her last breath. That would be too much for me. I have my scares now because I can’t tell whether she breathing or not when they have all the covers on her. One time I walked in there and bout had a heart attack. My grandma had stepped out and asked for me to go sit with her. When I went over there man oh man I was kind of like uh oh and stopped right in my tracks but before I got all hysterical I pulled her covers back and was like whew, she’s still alive. And then I was already traumatized the time I went over there last summer and couldn’t find Aunt Hattie. Somehow I didn’t see her laying in the bed. Man, that was scary I was all over that house calling her name with all kind of scenarios running in my head. Yeah, I already know that it’s some things that I can’t take and being in that house when it happens is one of them.

Again, I just ask that you keep us in your prayers.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Sunny
    February 25, 2010 at 11:13 am

    I love that song!!!! God has a way of doing that- sending a message to you right when you need it most (and sometimes even in the form of a song!)

    Have a great trip 80s. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

