Home > Uncategorized > I hate gimmicks!!!!!

I hate gimmicks!!!!!

I was super pumped when I recently found out about the discounted gym price that we could receive via the job. I’ve decided that I was finally gonna join a gym. Especially since my swimming suit shopping experience last Friday was a huge FAT FAIL.

The instructions we received on our end was to take the flyer to the gym and we could get the quoted price. So I’m excited and already thinking about how much greater I’m gonna look in a swimsuit after I start working out. My coworker who orchestrated this discount works in my section so I mentioned that I was gonna sign up and she told me that she was gonna let our contact know I was coming. Which she did.

So I have my flyer in hand and I go to the gym. I immediately ask for our contact. I can hear them paging him and then finally they tell me he’s stepped out. So another man proceeds to take my money give me a tour. After he shows me around, he’s like let me grab a list of our packages for you.

Bam! I pull out my flyer. No, need for that. I tell him this is what’s being advertised at my job and this is the reason I’ m here. I want this package and points to it on the flyer. The guy proceeds to read over my flyer and I casually mention the contact’s name again like yeah he’s supposedly familiar with this. The guy then walks away and “calls” the contact. He comes back to me like oh we haven’t finalized this corporate discount  yet because we don’t know how many people are interested. I’m starting to peep the game he’s gonna try and pull. So I say well, I know this promotion was supposed to go to the 31st but it was extended to the 14th of next month and I can just wait til then.

He tries to reel me back in and suggests that my best bet is prepay and for $399.99 I can get 18 months. Ummmm no! I politely decline and say I’m trying to relocate in the near future so I don’t want to make that long of a committment. Of course, I hear oh the good thing is that we’ll give you your money back for the months that go unused. I’m thinking to myself and roll my eyes on the sly like sure……… 

That bum tried to offer me another plan that consisted of start up fees and like 20 more than what my flyer advertisted. I declined again. Mainly because our promotion didn’t have initial fees and it was less expensive. So overall, the trip was almost a entire bust. Until he mentioned those free passes that he would give me so I could try the gym out for a few weeks. He had mentioned them casually while he was trying to sell different plans. So I casually mentioned that I would be interested in the free passes as I was preparing to leave.

This morning my coworker asked me how everything went. I said not good and I told her what happened. She was not happy and said I’m gonna tell our contact that this is not how things are supposed to go. So we’ll see how things work out as far as whether this was all a gimmick to begin with or if they’re really gonna honor those prices. But I do plan on taking advantage of the free pass that I have til the 14th.

FYI: I’ve been a sucker for people with great sales pitch. If he would have been on his game he may very well could have got me with the prepaying plan. However, he sucked. I can appreciate a good sales pitch. That’s definitely a talent that everybody doesn’t have. Ha!!!!!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. thecomebackgirl
    January 29, 2010 at 10:29 am

    “He tries to reel me back in and suggests that my best bet is prepay and for $399.99 I can get 18 months.”

    WHAT!!!!!!!!!!!!! do yall have gold’s gym..there’s a 19.99 special mo special and i don’t think theres a contract with that???. you can do cheaper.

  2. Shawnta`
    January 29, 2010 at 10:46 am

    Morning, y’all.

    @80’s: You’re better than me. While I do appreciate a good & solid sales pitch, I would have been too annoyed to even hear them. What did he mean, the corporate discount wasn’t finalized because they weren’t sure how many people would be interested. Craziness. Then there should not have been a flyer printed up. Out of control.

    I don’t like gimmicks either. I love deals but there is a difference between deals & gimmicks. I always look at promotions that are too good to be true as being just that…false. Girl, I get so annoyed when things aren’t as advertised.

  3. ms80sbaby
    January 29, 2010 at 10:54 am

    @Comeback….See our Gold’s gym has been changed to Urban Active… So that’s who I was dealing with…. And see our promotion is 19.99 for one specific gym or I can do 29.99 and go to all three gyms in the area… My nosy butt was gonna do the 29.99 so I could go to all three gyms… To have a change of scenery. But I ain’t gonna be doing nothing if they don’t get it together.

    @Shawnta…..That’s how I feel too.. That’s why I was giving him the side eye when he was explaining the whole discount hasn’t been setup yet… I was thinking to myself oh really.

    And when I got home I calculated it and it was NOT the better deal. I just didn’t know they got paid on commission and he was trying to make him some money. Not off of me. Especially with the suck sale’s pitch..

  4. Sunny
    January 29, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    “He tries to reel me back in and suggests that my best bet is prepay and for $399.99 I can get 18 months”

    WTF IS THIS ABOUT????? IS he dead serious or half alive serious because this is just plain ridiculous.

    I’m glad you skated out there with your pockets intact.

  5. ms80sbaby
    January 29, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    @Sunny…Exactly..I’m thinking to myself… I came in to spend a measly 30.00 at the most and you think you bout to get 400.00 out of me.. .Umm no.. That’s a HUGE FAIL. Furthermore, even though you tell me I’ll get my money back if I relocate. Yeah, just my luck there will be something that would happen that would prevent me from getting ALL OF MY MONEY back for the months I don’t use.

    Not interested……

    This morning my coworker did forward me an email from the contact apologizing. He said that the man was new and he was just doing his job… Yeah… Sure…. He said it’s better for us to make an appt w/ him so we can ensure that he’ll be around. I’m still kind of suspect. My plan is to use the passes as well as make an appt to see what he talking about. Now if he trying to sell me something ridiculous they NOT getting ANY of my money.

  6. Sunny
    January 29, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    I agree with that- the man was just doing his job nothing… he stated INCORRECT info, ” that corporate account has not been approved.” Do you mean stating unauthorized assessments is in the training book?? BOY STOP.

    And yeah, that is too much money to be playing around with, I don’t buy it. I think they’d try to make some way that you can’t get it all back too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

