Home > Uncategorized > If you don’t use it, you’ll lose it…….

If you don’t use it, you’ll lose it…….

So this weekend I made the sporadic decision to go home. I was supposed to be riding with a friend to another friend’s housewarming. The friend had backed out and at first I wasn’t gonna go because I didn’t care to drive. But not being the supportive friend is not me. So I ended up packing a bag and hitting the road late Saturday afternoon.

Anywho, on Sunday I helped clean out some of Aunt Hattie’s apartment and I’m still learning so much more about this woman. She wrote everything down. And throughout her different writings I would see that she would always  jot down What thou seeth write in a book. It really seemed as if she would just sit and write for hours.

I took  have one of her ledgers/journals and it’s amazing. She literally wrote out every single one of her transactions. This goes all the way back to 1985. She even wrote down who gave her what for her birthday and the birthday gifts that she gave. She wrote all of her transactions down up until 2004. During the earlier years her handwriting was so neat and even up until her late nineties her handwriting was still legible.

This woman wrote down everything. She had surgery on right eye on August 3, 1983. She left the hospital a few hours after surgery and she had an appt the next day and her eye is doing fine. I also found a snippet of information that she wrote down on high blood pressure. This is what she has written down:

High Blood Pressure:

For an example, if your Dr. tells you your blood pressure is 120/80. That means each time your heart beats 120 units of pressure are exerted against the walls of your arteries and each time your heart relaxes, 80 units of pressure are exerted.

What’s normal

Most doctors and other health experts divide people into those who have normal blood pressure, those who have high pressue and all those in between whose blood pressure is just a little above where it ought to be (mildly high blood pressure). For adults, a blood pressure over 120/70 for an example is well within the nromal range. Most would say anything below 140/90 is probably normal.

As for high blood pressure most would agree it’s anything above 160/100. If your blood pressure is i nthe mildly high range (say for an example 150/95 your doctor may or may not prescribe drugs for you.

Now I understand the purpose behind all of her books. She actually read them and jotted down notes. I am really amazed at all the stuff I am continuing to learn about her. My Aunt Hattie was one smart cookie and she could have taken on the world. I just can kick myself over and over again though because we had a playful relationship and it could have been so much more than that. She had so much wisdom and I never tapped into it.

I also finally realize why Aunt Hattie was still in her right mind. Because she made the choice to use her mind continuously. Even up until her death . She continued to read and she continued to write. She didn’t just sit around watching tv or watching the world go by around her. She made the decision to still be absorbed in everything. I now see the truth in if you don’t use it, then you will lose it. That is why Aunt Hattie still had it. This ledger of her means so much to me right now because it also proves that you can do anything that you put your mind to. Can you imagine a 99 year old woman at home tallying up her bills every month? Balancing a checkbook? She made the choice to do these things.

I can hear her now saying take me home. Take me to 634 Lafayette Apt D. I have my own apartment and I don’t have to deal with this. Sunday was my last day in 634 Lafayette Apt D and it was really bittersweet. Her apartment still smelled the same and I still remember visiting her when I was a little girl. I had given her an angel as a Christmas gift a few years ago and I reclaimed my angel because I’ll never forget how excited she was when I gave it to her. She was saying oh she looks so prayerful. So now everytime I look at that angel I just smile and think about how her face lit up when I gave it to her and how prayerful my Aunt Hattie actually was.

Accepting her death has probably been one of the hardest things that I’ve ever had to do. I still have my moments when I miss her terribly.  I cry. I look at her ring that I’m now wearing. I do all kind of things to fill this emptiness that I’m feeling. I’m so glad that she’ll always be a part of me though. She’s always in my heart. I always hated the question of who is your favorite role model. Because I never really had one that I was really genuine about. I think I finally figured out who my role model is. And it is definitely my Aunt Hattie.  I want to be just like her and choose to continue exercising my mind. Regardless of my age I’m using it.

Rest in peace Aunt Hattie and we had a good laugh at your apt. We were in your room cleaning off your bed and I found a teddy graham in the sheets. Oh boy, we fell out laughing about that. We laughed even harder when we found more of them. You know you loved your snacks. I guess you figured we didn’t move fast enough on giving you your snacks so you had to keep your own supply. Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Love you and thinking about you daily. See ya later alligator….Afterwhile crocodile……. See ya soon baboon….. ****Smoooches*** and you know I’m your favorite 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. V Renee
    January 13, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    This was soooooo sweet. Aunt Hattie wasn’t playing with yall – please believe she got her learn on ☺ 

    I wanted to meet Aunt Hattie. In my mind she was a rock star.

  2. ms80sbaby
    January 13, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    This was soooooo sweet. Aunt Hattie wasn’t playing with yall – please believe she got her learn on ☺

    @V…. She really did… Technically she only had a 6th grade education and she was the valedictorian of her class. But she self-taught herself so much more than that…. It really seemed like she just used to sit and write and write and write and write and write….She jotted down everything. It looks like she moved from Chicago on May 12, 1973 and she put herself in the phone book on May 15, 1973….lol

    When I worked at the pharmacy I used to play her. Whenever she would call I would say oh let me talk to her. At the time I didn’t know she was calling to make sure her stuff was right because she knew what it was supposed to be…. I thought she was calling just to be calling.

  3. Sunny
    January 14, 2010 at 7:48 am

    Awww, loved reading this. Thanks for sharing and being so candid 80s.

    That is amazing how she wrote down everything.. and I completely agree with if you don’t use it, you lose it. My granddad has had several strokes and he’s in adult daycare now, so that he can keep motivated. I think even through reading her writings, you are still getting her wisdom!

  4. thecomebackgirl
    January 15, 2010 at 10:35 am

    This is basically a forward to a Aunt Hattie’s book. “A recipe for long life”..something like that. And every chapter would be something thats she written which you could attribute for her living so long.

    She wasn’t perfect..i mean you can write about that too..but i think she did more things RIGHT than she did wrong.

  5. thecomebackgirl
    January 15, 2010 at 10:37 am

    “What thou seeth write in a book.”

    maybe this too is how you live long..keeping account of your life..i would have someone look into that..do people who keep journals live longer more fuller lives?

  6. ms80sbaby
    January 15, 2010 at 10:51 am

    “What thou seeth write in a book.”

    @Comeback….. This is actually a scripture in the bible and she referenced it a lot in her writings. From revelations can’t remember the actual verse and scripture.

    I know my cousin who studies gerontology actually interviewed Aunt Hattie and My great grandmother years ago…… She said that she’s going to look for that tape. If she can find it I may seriously contemplate doing something with all of this information…..

  7. thecomebackgirl
    January 15, 2010 at 11:21 am

    @Comeback….. This is actually a scripture in the bible and she referenced it a lot in her writings. From revelations can’t remember the actual verse and scripture.”

    I feel like a hethen LOL…i did not know that..I think you should do something with with or without the tape..

    you might find other clues in more of her work.

  8. ms80sbaby
    January 15, 2010 at 11:34 am

    Don’t feel bad because I didn’t know it either… I still wouldn’t have known if she hadn’t the put where it came from behind it.

    I’m going to see what I can come up with as far as the history from my grandmother and her brother……. I know it’s interesting stuff there but my great grandmother refused to talk about it….. Because my great grandma and all of her siblings are really light complected and have that good hair but don’t you ask if they are mixed with something. Those are fighting words….. Even at Aunt Hattie’s funeral my uncle was saying that he used to say the word half breed a lot and then Aunt Hattie who named him by the way pulled him aside and said listen your grandma was a halfbreed so don’t you use that term anymore….

    I’m gonna ponder this over the weekend and start asking questions to see what I can come up with.

  9. ms80sbaby
    January 15, 2010 at 11:37 am

    Oh and we did find more information about their siblings….. It was 11 of them. The oldest one was born in like 1889……

    I just wished that we could have sat and went through everything.I need to see what my aunt did with all of her books and to see if they came across anymore of her writings…….Oh and did you know a divorce was only 60.00 in the late 50’s…. That’s how much she paid for hers.

  10. ms80sbaby
    January 15, 2010 at 11:44 am

    You know the more I think about it the more stuff is starting to come back as far as their rich history….. I might do something on the last three Simmons sisters…. Aunt Cat passed away in 05 and she was 95…. Aunt Hattie 09 at 104, and then my great grandmother is hanging on at 95…….

    For example, I know my great grandmother has mentioned not being able to get married inside the courthouse… They had to go to judges house and he wouldn’t even let them in. They got married outside in the rain.

  11. thecomebackgirl
    January 15, 2010 at 11:53 am

    “For example, I know my great grandmother has mentioned not being able to get married inside the courthouse… They had to go to judges house and he wouldn’t even let them in. They got married outside in the rain.”

    WHAT???? because they were black???

    have you checked ancestry.com..i found some census stuff about my great grandma. it was a microfiche of the census taker’s info about her.

  12. ms80sbaby
    January 15, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    WHAT???? because they were black???

    @Comeback…. YEP…. We’re talking about late 1930’s and 1940’s….

    There is definitely some interesting history there with my great grandparents as well…….. My great grandfather had very dark skin so my grandmother and her brother are the brownest ones out of their first cousins…… I still think my grandmother has a complex about that. Because she doesn’t fit with the mode of my great grandmother’s family. As far as light skin and good hair. But I want to talk to my grandmother to see if their family was treated any differently as a result of who my great grandmother chose to marry…… I’ll hear her say stuff about her first cousins on her mom’s side… Because my thing was how come none of them came to visit their aunt’s…. So it’s some stuff there.. Just got to see if my grandma wants to open up about it.

    I may seriously think about digging into all of my history because it’s very interesting.

  1. January 20, 2010 at 9:18 am

Leave a Reply

