Home > Uncategorized > Time has come………

Time has come………

I’m about to do something that I am dreading and that is balancing my checking account. I used to be so good and eager to get this completed. I would check my account every morning. Now, I stay putting it off. I probably haven’t even looked at my checking account since October. What’s really sad is that I’ve been steady swiping my debit card since my credit card information was stolen and I still haven’t even looked.

As I stated earlier, I believe I never looked and allotted money where it was supposed to go once I got my last check in October. That was October 31st. If I can recall I believe I balanced everything that week so once I got that  check I wouldn’t have to do too much.  But I never did it. It crosses my mind often but I know it’s about to be a lot that’s why I keep putting it off. I know I have my “Christmas shopping” money sitting in there, tithes money sitting in there, and other things that I need to allocate appropriately.

My system is using an Excel Spreadsheet. On this spreadsheet I have which bills get paid with what check. For example, tithes comes out of every check, rent, cell phone, car insurance,  come out of 2nd check of month. Then car, g&e, and student loans come out of first check.   I also have money allotted for different things sitting in my account.  For example, usually I leave my tax refund money in my checking account and I use that to finance my mini trips throughout the year. So after every trip I’ll tally up how much I’ve spent during the trip and then transfer the money from my checking account to pay my credit card. Then keep a record of how much I’ve spent and how much I have left.

To say the least, my excel spreadsheet is pretty complicated. However, it helps me know where my money is going. My rule has always been to never dip in my savings and this keeps me from doing that. So now I’m off to get everything straightened out. Wish me luck.

What about you….. What are you money mgt strategies? Do you have one? Do you just spend? Talk to me…..

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. LP
    December 4, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    I am a bit like you. But with no complicated excel spreadsheet though. LoL!

    I have most of my bills automatically scheduled and my rent check (which is my biggest expense) gets taken on the 1st.

    But mostly I balance it in my head and check every other day or weekly.

  2. December 7, 2009 at 12:02 am

    you should send me a black copy of your spread sheet!! you know imma nerd i wanna see!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

