Home > Uncategorized > Hey Big Spender

Hey Big Spender

I have no clue where my money management skills came from. I can’t say that my parents were the most disciplined when it came to money. Possibly seeing them struggle may have played a part in my desire for financial security. I never said I wanted to grow up and be rich. That was never my goal. I decided that I just didn’t want to live check to check. I didn’t want to live with just enough to pay my bills. I wanted to live comfortable with my bills paid and some play money in the mix too.

My first job was at 15 and I was paid weekly. Considering I didn’t have my license I wasn’t able to just drive myself to the bank to cash my checks. I was never in a rush to cash my checks considering I wasn’t spending money like that. So my checks would just accumulate. There were times when I would have 4 or 5 checks that I needed to cash. I made that lil money that I made stretchhhhhhhhhh as long as possible. Since I made that money stretch I got the title of being stingy and cheap. It didn’t matter to me none because I was steady accumulating my savings. To this day, my friends still call me el cheapo and it still doesn’t bother me one bit.

Once I started working my “salary” job I realized the more money you make, the faster it goes. There were plenty of times when I first started working and after I balanced my checkbook I was like where the heck my money go. Every time I got a little ahead I was like yes I can put this in my savings. But then lo and behold something came up that always took my little extra. So I realized then that in order to get ahead I was gonna have to discipline myself. I accepted that the first year of working I was going to get everything established considering this was my first real apartment so I didn’t beat myself up about not saving as much as I wanted to. However, that next year I was on it.

 It’s not like I’m just super cheap and won’t spend money on anything. There’s some purchases that I absolutely cannot  do (like buying a soda at a restuarant lol) and then there’s expensive purchases that I’ll make without blinking. I was just living well underneath my means. There’s not anything wrong with that but I recently I had to check myself.  I just had to realize that I don’t necessarily need to be as disciplined as I am. I know I’m not going to go crazy and deplete my savings but at the same time its okay to spend.  This is kind of what spurred my $1300 redecorating spending spree. Considering how pleased I am I would do it all over again in a heartbeat.

This is not even where this post was supposed to go but oh well….

So tell me….. Are you disciplined when it comes to your spending? Were you disciplined at a point and had to check yourself? Are you a big spender? Are you a saver? Talk to me………………

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. LP
    November 13, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    By normal standards (especially American standards), I can be considered el cheapo. Like you, I have always been big on financial security. Unlike you, I still want to grow up and be “rich”… Lol!

    My dad really ingrained in us that superfluous things are just that superfluous… While my mother was more of an indulgence type of person… We had that balance. My dad does not believe in material things, my mom likes to be extra comfortable. Having this dichotomy in the house gave us a good understanding that while money was necessary, it was not the most important thing in the world.

    I am a bargain shopper by nature (dad’s genes) but there are things that I have deemed important enough to splurge on (travels, experiences, etc…).

    The good part is when I have a goal in mind, it’s easy for me to restrict myself and focus on the goal. I am trying to save enough for a down payment next year… while paying for school. It’s going to be a tight budget BUT with discipline, I think I’ll be able to live.

    Great post, chica!

  2. ms80sbaby
    November 13, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    Thanks LP…. And that was a great balance within your home……

    As long as you’re disciplined then the saving is going to be easy. Good luck accomplishing your goals… I know you can do it 😉

  3. November 16, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    Can you put up some type of rss feader so i can know when new posts come up?

  4. November 16, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    To be honest HELL NO..im a spender..but Im working on catching up a lot of my savings..i want to post about it soon.

  5. ms80sbaby
    November 16, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    im a spender

    @Comeback……I’m gonna get Mik on you… .LOL You can do it though. It just takes a whole lot of discipline. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

