Home > Uncategorized > Dressing for Success

Dressing for Success

This morning I am serving on an interview panel and right now it is not going the greatest. I want to get into HR put my Masters to use so I was eager to serve in this role because I know it’s experience that will help me in the future. My current dept is laid back and because we’re in the background no one generally dresses up. I am constantly surprised by how some people choose to come to work. I don’t dress up like I probably should considering I have the clothes in my closet. But due to the culture I don’t tend to overdo it. I’ll wear a skirt and then I’ll be asked why are you dressed up. My response this is not dressed up.

Anywho, considering I’m wanting to transition to HR, I am taking sitting on this interview panel seriously. I look at this experience as something I may be doing in the future so I’m only preparing for my future role.I came in early which is not like me to make sure I was prepared. I even wore a suit this morning. I can’t tell you the last time I wore a suit to work. This morning one of the supervisors commented you’re all dressed up with nowhere to go. While he has on jeans and a red, white, and blue (ode to veterans day tomorrow perhaps) shirt.

Unfortunately, I think I am the only one who took this seriousy. Two people serving on the panel with me are wearing jeans and one guy has on slacks and nice button up. But still this first impression that we’re giving off is not a good one. Furthermore, throughout these interviews I’m in serious mode and taking everything in. They are not. They’re cracking jokes and making it more nonchalant than anything. Where’s the seriousness?

I’m just sitting there like what kind of mess is. I want to tell the person who’ll be the supervisor of this new position that she needs to never ask this man to lead the interview panel again. His demeanor is all the way wrong.  I strongly believe that first impressions are everything and the ones that the interview panel are making are not great.

We have three down and a few more to go. I can only hope they’ll get better. But we shall see………………

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. V Renee
    November 10, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    I agree with you regarding first impressions. Anytime you are representing the company to “outsiders”, I think it’s imperative to put your best foot forward. Anytime I’m meeting with outsiders, such as clients and interviewers, I definitely slap on a suit.

  2. LP
    November 10, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    Hey 80’s! So are you interviewing people? What was the panel’s role exactly?

    Did you enjoy it?

  3. ms80sbaby
    November 10, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    @LP… Yes, we’re interviewing people for a position in our department. I really did enjoy it…… I just hate that it opens up my eyes to a lot of the foolishness that goes along with the hiring process and etc.

    Eventually I do want to get into HR not necessarily in the hiring part but more like an analyst. Someone out the outside coming up with solutions to make the hiring process FAIR and easier… Yes, I want to make a difference in the HR world 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

