Home > Uncategorized > We are the Champions…………

We are the Champions…………

My high school’s football team is GREAT!!!!!!!!! This is the first time that we’ve made the playoffs in 19 years and the feeling is awesome! I know a lot of the guys on the team especially since some are my younger cousins and others that I know from the neighborhood and so on. So I’ve been to majority of their games this season to show my support. This season has been awesome. The defense is crazy and has pretty much shut everybody’s offense down! We really should have had an undefeated season however, we let one team slide by us and our record is currently 10-1.

I attended the away playoff game on Saturday and I loved it.  As I walked into the stadium, I looked on the visitors side and all I could see was my hometown’s colors. Our visitors side was packed.  I didn’t have anywhere to sit. But I still had a great time.

My hometown is small and we have our problems just like everybody else. Not too long ago we were listed as one of the fastest dying towns in the country. However, it’s something about high school sports that bring everybody together. It was such a great atmosphere to be in. The whole game I was celebrating with everybody around me. I’m so happy that everybody is enjoying this moment and just being positive. I ended up sitting on some rocks that were by the entrance so I seen everybody coming in and everybody coming out. It was such a celebration once the game was over. I have never hugged and hi-fived so many people at a game in my life. Everybody was so happy and caught up in the spirit. At one point, I told my mom we are not the welcoming committee due to everybody coming up to us after the game. I’m calling this experience my hometown’s reunion because it’s bringing everyone out. I couldn’t help but to overhear how people my parents age left our town once they graduated high school and never looked back but yet they’ve resurfaced to come out and support they’re alma mater’s football team. I’m talking about people flying in and putting miles on their cars just to watch these games.

Everybody said that we didn’t have a tough schedule so our statistics so far meant nothing. We were told that we were going to get mauled in our first playoff game. We were told that we were going to get crushed. Guess what happened. We WHOOPED up on our competition something terrible. We won by 35 points.  We dominated the game and only allowed them to gain 64 yards the entire game. I told y’all our defense is nothing to be played with. The urban kids from my neighborhood ran over the lil private school boys so bad that they didn’t even want to shake our hands after the game. They claimed they feared for their lives. Uhhhh, no their boys were bigger than ours. They just couldn’t handle that loss. Unsportsmanlike conduct at it’s best!!!!!!

More than anything I’m proud of the players. A lot of these players have overcome adversity and have been counted out a long time ago. So it’s great to see them being able to live in this moment. Regardless of their circumstances they are a great group of guys and I’m proud of their accomplishments this season. They’re already champions in my eyes. I’m already looking forward to next week….

I also seen my ex from high school and his baby momma at the game….. Yeah so look forward to the upcoming post about that….

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. V Renee
    November 9, 2009 at 10:00 am

    “I also seen my ex from high school and his baby momma at the game….. Yeah so look forward to the upcoming post about that….”

    Can’t wait!!

    What time is the next game? I want to go! My sister’s boyfriend and his sister went to that game on Saturday. I should have hopped in and went with them. Ha!

  2. ms80sbaby
    November 9, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Yeah I’m gonna give y’all the ENTIRE breakdown of the ex and his baby momma…

    You sure should have hopped in the car….. I probably seen them. Since everybody had to pass by me. I was people watching like crazy… LOL Girl that other school (you know this ain't what I really want to say) was MAAAAAAAAAAAAAADDDDDDDDDDDD!!!!!!! They were STUNNED that them my lil boys came on their turf and did them like that. They were completely SILENT the entire game.

    When we were walking out my lil cousin was talking about I'm scared. It was tense because it was soo hard for them to swallow that loss….I'm like boy it ain't nothing to be scared of. We were the better team. If they can't handle that then thats on them. But I know NOBODY better touch me. He swear I'm mean. He was like I already know you'll kill them. I'm like you got that right 😉 lmao

  3. ms80sbaby
    November 9, 2009 at 10:26 am

    You probably won’t be able to make that game due to your sister’s baby shower.. :(..

  4. V Renee
    November 9, 2009 at 11:21 am

    Awwww man you’re right, I probably won’t be able to make it! AND its here in town 😦 if I’m not mistaken, I think they went because one their cousins played on the team. Ill have to ask what his name is.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

